Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Rehab Rajab Blending Technology & Realia in 1:1 iPad ESL Classroom

Event Details

Rehab Rajab Blending Technology & Realia in 1:1 iPad ESL Classroom

Time: April 27, 2014 from 6pm to 7pm
Location: Adobe Connect
Website or Map: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.…
Event Type: online
Organized By: Shelly Terrell
Latest Activity: Jun 27, 2016

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Room AVALON

World Clock: Sun 6pm GMT, 7pm London, 8pm Paris, 3am Tokyo (Mon), 2pm New York

Blending Technology and Realia in 1:1 iPad ESL Classroom

EFL teachers have always brought a variety of real objects (realia) to the classroom and linked them to topics being learned. In 1:1 iPad classrooms, teachers need to acquire new techniques to blend realia and technology in order to keep a good balance between face-to-face interaction and device-based interaction also to provide learners with opportunities to use the new technology within authentic real-life tasks.

During this session, the presenter will showcase some creative lesson ideas to use authentic text from real printed and/or digital resources in the 1:1 iPad ESL/EFL classroom. Teachers who use English as a medium of instruction in subjects such as Maths and Science to non-native English speakers may also find some of these ideas applicable to their own contexts.

The presenter will share samples of lessons material that participants can use immediately in their classrooms.

Rehab Rajab is passionate about sharing innovative teaching ideas and developing online professional learning communities. She holds an MA in Educational Technology from Michigan State University, she's an Apple Distinguished Educator (Class of 2013) and an Apple Professional Development Authorised Trainer.

Rehab holds a BA in Education and worked as an ESL teacher for twelve years before becoming Instructional Technology Supervisor and Teacher Trainer at The Institute of Applied Technology in 2012. She has been involved in professional development activities for teachers in the UAE through her work with TESOL Arabia since 2007. Currently She is the Immediate Past President of the organisation.

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for Rehab Rajab Blending Technology & Realia in 1:1 iPad ESL Classroom to add comments!

Join Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Comment by REHAB RAJAB on April 27, 2014 at 2:50pm

Attending (5)

Might attend (1)

  • ”EnglishCentral:
  • LinguaTV
  • Lingorilla
  • Centre for English Language & Training
  • English 360
  • Exam English

© 2020   Created by Heike Philp.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service