Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Natalya Eydelman: Academic Writing and Study Skills Development with Technology

Event Details

Natalya Eydelman: Academic Writing and Study Skills Development with Technology

Time: May 8, 2016 from 10:30am to 11:30am
Location: Room Arthur Adobe Connect
Website or Map: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.…
Event Type: workshop
Organized By: Heike Philp
Latest Activity: May 3, 2016

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Sunday, 8 May 2016

10:30am GMT11:30am UK, 7:30pm Tokyo, 4pm New Delhi, 6:30am New York, 3:30am Los Angeles

Room Arthur

http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/arthur

Natalya Eydelman

Academic Writing and Study Skills Development with Technology

My workshop will be devoted to the discussion of a number of activities aimed at the development of academic writing and study skills in the courses of Academic Writing. They were designed for the 2nd-year students studying at the Foreign Languages Department or enrolled in an ESP course. The students' majors are Education, Translation and Interpretation or Economics. First, I'll describe my teaching context and explain the reasons for choosing PBWorks as the learning environment for the courses I teach. Next, I will share a selection of activities the students complete throughout the courses to master such skills as paraphrasing and summarizing. Also, I'll present activities offered to students to help them learn about a variety of academic writing genres and their features and improve their referencing skills. In addition, I'll share several activities to help the students to understand the essence of plagiarism and learn to write without it. The participants will be able to try out some activities to see what they are like. In the end I will share some tips about incorporating the described activities in courses of language learning.

I am a teacher of English from Russia. Teaching is my profession but also my hobby. I have been teaching a variety of English courses at Novosibirsk State University (Russia), including Academic Writing, ICT Methods, ICT in Linguistics and General English courses for over 20 years. I am very interested in using the technology in the classroom and helping my students and colleagues to benefit from it. I have participated in a number of F2F and online conferences and teacher development events in Russia and abroad. In 2010 I completed my MA (TESOL & ICT) on a Hornby scholarship from the British Council. My current areas of interest include approaches to teaching writing with technology, learner autonomy and motivation. I am also interested in teaching contemporary British literature courses to develop my students' knowledge and understanding of different aspects of the target language and culture.

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for Natalya Eydelman: Academic Writing and Study Skills Development with Technology to add comments!

Join Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Attending (2)

  • ”EnglishCentral:
  • LinguaTV
  • Lingorilla
  • Centre for English Language & Training
  • English 360
  • Exam English

© 2020   Created by Heike Philp.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service