Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Ali Shahsavand: Technology and Fluency

Event Details

Ali Shahsavand: Technology and Fluency

Time: May 8, 2016 from 11:30am to 12pm
Location: Room Arthur Adobe Connect
Website or Map: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.…
Event Type: presentation
Organized By: Heike Philp
Latest Activity: May 8, 2016

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Sunday, 8 May 2016

11:30am GMT12:30am UK, 8:30pm Tokyo, 5pm New Delhi, 7:30am New York, 4:30am Los Angeles

Room Arthur

http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/arthur

Ali Shahsavand

Technology and Fluency

In each and every single language the most essential and meaningful ability is to master speaking. Adequate pronunciation and a reasonable level of oral fluency and being very close to the original accent is currently the biggest obstacle in order to become more competent in a foreign language.

I have been advocating the Shadowing technique for the past couple of years and it is the reason I am interested in testing its impact through action research. I have had a firm belief that this is the missing ingredient of a more native-like speech. I have been encouraging all my students, regardless of their level of English, to practice Shadowing as much as possible. It wasn't until I started teaching PTE Academic courses, that I noticed the BIG difference it made!

Both Kevin and Mycah’s PTE Academic test results, not only did they manage to improve their Pronunciation and Oral fluency to a great extent, they also improved in other areas such as Listening and Grammar. What has made these results very interesting is that they have both managed to do so in a very short time. Kevin and Mycah, are just two of the many examples.

I have always enjoyed innovative teaching ideas and practices. I have ran multiple PD sessions and workshops for teachers and academic managers on innovative teaching practices, during the six years of working as a Head Teacher. During the same time, I designed my own website (www.EnglishCorner.co), I also designed and ran the first ever PTE Academic preparation course in Australia (According to Pearson), and presented at English Australia Conference and UECA PD fest 2015, on innovative ways of preparing PTE Academic candidates for the test, and also on ways of engaging ESL learners, both within and outside classroom through the use of mobile phone applications - Whats App in particular.

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for Ali Shahsavand: Technology and Fluency to add comments!

Join Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Attending (3)

  • ”EnglishCentral:
  • LinguaTV
  • Lingorilla
  • Centre for English Language & Training
  • English 360
  • Exam English

© 2020   Created by Heike Philp.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service