Virtual Round Table Web Conference

VIRTUAL WORLDS Barbara McQueen: Immersive Education in Virtual Worlds

Event Details

VIRTUAL WORLDS Barbara McQueen: Immersive Education in Virtual Worlds

Time: May 7, 2016 from 10pm to 10:30pm
Location: Room Arthur Adobe Connect
Website or Map: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.…
Event Type: tour, of, edutopia
Organized By: Heike Philp
Latest Activity: May 7, 2016

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Saturday, 7 May 2016

10pm GMT11pm UK, 7am Tokyo (Sun), 3:30am New Delhi (Sun), 6pm New York, 3pm Los Angeles

Room Arthur

http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/arthur

Barbara McQueen

Immersive Education in Virtual Worlds

From my first contact with virtual worlds, I have been enthralled by the opportunities they offer for immersive ESL courses. But I have been concerned that so many of the examples of in-world teaching are just replicas of traditional classroom instruction, rather than attempts to use all the advantages of virtual mediums. In this interview, I will answer questions about how and why to more fully use the phenomenal possibilities virtual worlds offer to learners and educators.

For three decades I have mentored fellow teachers one-on-one, through in-services, as an ESL teacher trainer for Oxford Seminars, and as a conference presenter for TESOL, the VWBPE, SLanguages, and MachinEVO. Now I am developing my own virtual world, Edutopia, for delivering online ESL courses that mirror many of the characteristics that are found in the video games that intrigue our youth.

 

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for VIRTUAL WORLDS Barbara McQueen: Immersive Education in Virtual Worlds to add comments!

Join Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Attending (2)

  • ”EnglishCentral:
  • LinguaTV
  • Lingorilla
  • Centre for English Language & Training
  • English 360
  • Exam English

© 2020   Created by Heike Philp.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service