Virtual Round Table Web Conference

KEYNOTE Nik Peachey: Empowering teachers through self publishing

Event Details

KEYNOTE Nik Peachey:  Empowering teachers through self publishing

Time: May 8, 2016 from 5:30pm to 6:30pm
Location: Room Arthur Adobe Connect
Website or Map: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.…
Event Type: keynote
Organized By: Heike Philp
Latest Activity: May 8, 2016

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Sunday, 8 May 2016

5:30pm GMT6:30pm UK, 2:30am Tokyo (Mon), 11pm New Delhi, 1:30pm New York, 10:30am Los Angeles

KEYNOTE

Nik Peachey

Empowering teachers through self publishing

Recent advances in the development of low cost and free publishing tools combined with growing access to commercial platforms for the sale and distribution of self published ebooks is providing teachers with the opportunity to develop their professional competences and expand their opportunities for generating income beyond the classroom. 

Most teachers who create materials for use in the classroom have the potential to increase their income and enhance their reputation and employability. In this session I will be looking at come of the opportunities and challenges of self publishing and the potential impact that it can have on the ELT industry as a whole.

The session will include tips on where to publish your materials as well as advice on how to market yourself as an e-publisher.

Nik Peachey is a blogger, teacher trainer and experienced materials writer and editor. He has been working in ELT since 1992 and has worked all over the world with companies like British Council, International House and Bell Educational Service as well as ELT publishers including Macmillan, CUP, OUP as well as a range of tech companies including Google.

He was the main commissioning editor for the BBC - British Council’s Teaching English website from 2003 - 2007. In 2010 his Daily English Activities blog was short listed for a British Council Innovations award and in 2012 he won and Innovations award for the blended learning course he developed for Bell. His first major book Digital Video - A manual for language teachers was written and produced as a multimedia iBook for iTunes after crowd funding through Indiegogo and has now been shortlisted for an Innovations award in 2016.

He is:

Author - Digital video - A manual for language teachers: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/digital-video/id1025275485 

Author - 10 Lessons in Digital Literacy: https://www.tes.com/us/teacher-lessons/10-lessons-in-digital-literacy-11231525 

Author - Web 2.0 tools for teachers: https://www.tes.com/us/teacher-lessons/web-2-0-tools-for-teachers-11168048 

Co-editor - Creativity in the English language classroom: http://englishagenda.britishcouncil.org/books-resource-packs/creativity-english-language-classroom 

Founder - PeacheyPublications http://peacheypublications.com/  

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for KEYNOTE Nik Peachey: Empowering teachers through self publishing to add comments!

Join Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Attending (10)

Might attend (1)

Not Attending (1)

  • ”EnglishCentral:
  • LinguaTV
  • Lingorilla
  • Centre for English Language & Training
  • English 360
  • Exam English

© 2020   Created by Heike Philp.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service