Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Susana Canelo: Conectar Igualdad

Event Details

Susana Canelo: Conectar Igualdad

Time: April 26, 2014 from 2:30pm to 3pm
Location: Adobe Connect
Website or Map: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.…
Event Type: online
Organized By: Heike Philp
Latest Activity: Apr 26, 2014

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Main Venue ARTHUR

Livestream

World Clock Sat 2:30pm GMT 3:30pm London, 4:30pm Paris, 11:30pm Tokyo, 10:30am New York, 11:30am Buenos Aires

In Argentina a pioneering 1:1 technology integration program called Conectar Igualdad is rapidly transforming the educational system.

Conectar Igualdad is specifically designed to improve educational equality and reduce Argentina’s digital literacy gap. In addition to delivering netbooks to public secondary schools across the country, the program provides professional development for teachers.

There are many things to improve yet, but no excuses now for ICT inclusion. Teachers who are fighting for this, are really happy and working hard.

We live in a depressed region, far from urban areas. The contact with the foreign language is really scarce .We can increase it, by using the netbooks. Sound and images taken home (and shared with parents) are a lot more appealing than books.

Among many possibilities I chose working with videos, not just using videos. Also students producing videos and having fun!!

Susana Canelo, Argentina has been teaching English for 30 years. She is an architect and an EFL teacher. Susana lives in a very small village, Del Valle, with about 1000 inhabitants. Imagine how important the possibility of having access to a wider world is for our students. She is a proud Webhead since 2006, all she know about ICT integration comes from them and their constant support. She was an online moderator in one of TESOL Electronic Village Online sessions Maybe it’s time to pay forward. She is especially interested in teaching and creating materials for teens, also interested in CLIL and she created a blog http://endelvallesi.blogspot.com.ar. She tries to incorporate technology into her teaching, especially now when their students have their own netbooks thanks to Conectar Igualdad National Plan and obviously support other teachers in their way to include more and more new ways of teaching with technology. At the moment she is finishing her Master’s degree in Educational Technology at the Universidad Tecnológica Nacional.

Skype: susanacanelo3694

Twitter: @susanacanelo
email:susana_canelo@yahoo.com.ar
Second Life: Susana Capra

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for Susana Canelo: Conectar Igualdad to add comments!

Join Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Attending (3)

  • ”EnglishCentral:
  • LinguaTV
  • Lingorilla
  • Centre for English Language & Training
  • English 360
  • Exam English

© 2020   Created by Heike Philp.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service