Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Mo Riddiford: Is a global shared SECOND language possible?

Event Details

Mo Riddiford: Is a global shared SECOND language possible?

Time: May 7, 2016 from 6pm to 6:30pm
Location: Room Arthur Adobe Connect
Website or Map: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.…
Event Type: presentation
Organized By: Heike Philp
Latest Activity: May 9, 2016

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Saturday, 7 May 2016

5:50pm GMT6:50pm UK, 2:50am Tokyo (Sun), 11:20pm New Delhi, 1:50pm New York, 10:50am Los Angeles

Room Arthur

http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/arthur

Mo Riddiford

Is a global shared SECOND language possible?

We currently face growing global problems. Despite internet communication available now to half of the world's population, most people still find themselves limited within language groups. The discussion of creative solutions to global problems is limited to a tiny elite, and does not include the many.
Part of the solution is one shared global SECOND language. But which? I will argue that the only realistic candidate is Globish, with its vocabulary of just 1500 words, with related words making a total of 5000 words. In fact hundreds of millions of people already use it every day!

Yes it is simplified standardised English with as few as six tenses. But I will argue that the greatest problem to its adoption are the native speakers and the non-native elite speakers of English. Why? They too must accept that Globish is a form of second-language communication, with its own set of shared expectations.

By 2026 it is possible that over half of the world will understand and be able to use Globish. In this way we will have the necessary global conversation, with the required diversity of stakeholders, to find the global solutions, that we so desperately need.

Mo Riddiford claims to be able to have a conversation in any language, and only in that language, but without any prior knowledge of that language.
You may see his experiments in this, regarding Communication C-O-N-F-I-D-E-N-C-E (SM) versus Language Competence on his YouTube video channel.
He works mostly online as a Communication Coach and Integral Communication Consultant, and is the creator of the BE-in-English Approach (SM) to second-language acquisition. This follows his career as a University teacher of English as a Second Language in five universities on two continents, former President of ELTABB (the Berlin Association for ESL teachers), and environmental activist.
Born in New Zealand he has lived his adult life in six countries, including his recent teaching at two Saudi Arabian universities. He is now based in Berlin with his wife and young son.

http://effectiveinenglish.com/

http://www.youtube.com/user/EffectiveINenglish

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for Mo Riddiford: Is a global shared SECOND language possible? to add comments!

Join Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Attending (2)

  • ”EnglishCentral:
  • LinguaTV
  • Lingorilla
  • Centre for English Language & Training
  • English 360
  • Exam English

© 2020   Created by Heike Philp.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service