Virtual Round Table Web Conference

mLearning: an introduction

Event Details

mLearning: an introduction

Time: March 25, 2011 from 5:30pm to 6:30pm
Location: Adobe ConnectPro
Website or Map: http://lancelot.adobeconnect.…
Event Type: workshop
Organized By: Heike Philp
Latest Activity: Mar 25, 2011

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Friday, 25 March 2011 – 5:30pm GMT
Hawaii 7:30am, Los Angeles 10:30am, New York 1:30pm, London 5:30pm, Paris 6:30pm, Dubai 9:30pm, New Delhi 11pm, Beijing 1:30am, Tokyo 2:30am (Sat), Sydney 4:30am (Sat)
For World Time click here http://tinyurl.com/25March530pmGMT

 

Mobile learning (mLearning), also known as handheld learning, is becoming increasingly common in all fields of education, and with all age groups. However, mLearning is still relatively new in the field of ELT, and teachers are often not sure what it is about, and even less sure how it can be used with students. This presentation aims to introduce you to mLearning. We take a look at what it is, how it works, why it's important, and most importantly – how you can start to use it with your own students. We look at a number of activity types using a range of handheld devices, and by the end of the presentation, you should not only have a clearer idea about this new area, but some specific ideas to try out in your own practice.

Gavin Dudeney and Nicky Hockly are the Directors of The Consultants-E, an online training and development consultancy. They are authors of a number of  prize-winning resource books for English language teachers about ICT (Information and Communications Technologies), notably How to Teach English with Technology, which won the Ben Warren International House Trust Prize of 2008. Their work has been nominated for three British Council Innovation awards to date, and they are currently working on a new book about digital literacies, due to be published in 2012. Gavin and Nicky are particularly interested in the application of new technologies in the language classroom, and their work focuses on helping teachers with this, through both online and face-to-face teacher training.

 

Photo credit: ArabCrunch

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for mLearning: an introduction to add comments!

Join Virtual Round Table Web Conference

Attending (23)

Might attend (10)

Not Attending (3)

  • ”EnglishCentral:
  • LinguaTV
  • Lingorilla
  • Centre for English Language & Training
  • English 360
  • Exam English

© 2019   Created by Heike Philp.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service